Tilt Brush | 3D Form, Spatial Size

3D Form

In my previous sketches, I mainly used flat brushes that created some interesting artistic effects through the overlapping strokes. Next, I wanted to create 3D forms. I started with flat brushes, creating a 3D face. I realised soon enough that it was not ideal as the outcome was quite unimpressive (last, second last sketches below). I then explored other brushes, did some research and learnt about the Matte Hull and Spike brushes. These brushes turned out useful for creating shapes with volume. I was able to build a cartoony 3D landscape using these in just couple of hours.

Spatial Size

I also discovered a better alternative to the teleporting menu option to navigate through the scene: using the grip buttons on the hand controllers for toggling between the dinosaur, elephant, human, dog, rabbit view (refer to ‘making’ video below). This also provided a size reference while building the elements to match them to real-world proportions. I was able to zoom in to add details in the scene like the bird and grass using this functionality.

Light, Environment

I found some features in the ‘advanced’ mode that helped add realistic fog, lighting, environment for the blue sky. The fog especially is evident in the zoomed out views.

Tilt Brush: 3D Form exploration

Making:

Making | Tilt Brush

Output:

Cartoony Landscape | Tilt Brush

One thought on “Tilt Brush | 3D Form, Spatial Size

Leave a comment